Tag Archives: Books

Cold Days…

Cold Days is the latest book in The Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher. So Harry is alive again and now he’s the Winter Knight. The enforcer for Mab, the crazy queen of the Winter Fairies. Maybe staying dead was the better option. So what’s the first thing Mab orders Harry to do? Kill an immortal, whilst fighting an […]


I’ve been a fan of the film Dune for ages. I also liked the TV mini series. The Children of Dune TV mini series was a bit too random for me. A remake of Dune is in the offing. With that in mind it is a little surprising to me that I’ve never got round […]

Girl 99…

When I was at University I lived in shared houses with the author of Girl 99, Andy, for several years. We were on the same degree course and both stayed on to do PhDs. When he left to go to London I shared a house with his (then) girlfriend for a year before she left […]

Repairman Jack : Nightworld…

Nightworld is (sort-of) the sixteenth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson. The days are getting shorter, the stars are changing and all hope is lost… Or is it? Having thought that I had finished this series at book 15, it seemed a little daunting to start book 16, but I’ve made it my mission to finish […]

Repairman Jack : The Dark at The End…

The Dark at The End is the fifteenth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson. The Lady is a beacon signalling that sentient life exists on this planet. If she dies The Ally will turn its attention to other worlds and other dimensions, leaving the The Otherness to turn the planet into something resembling Hell. Twice The Adversary […]

Repairman Jack : Fatal Error

Fatal Error is the fourteenth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson. The Septimus Order, the Dormentalists and the Kickers all combine to try and bring down the internet, hoping the resulting chaos will further their cause of killing The Lady and letting The Otherness take over our reality. As with the previous episode, we are just […]

Repairman Jack : Ground Zero…

Ground Zero is the thirteenth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson. Jack meets up with an old school friend who has become fixated by the secret history of the world and more specifically, how it links to the 9/11 conspiracy theories… This story adds a bit more flesh to Jack’s life before he became a fix-it […]

Repairman Jack : By the Sword

By the Sword is the twelfth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson. Jack is hired to find a battered old Japanese sword. Unfortunately, there are some other people looking for it, including a group of Yakuza, a group of self-mutilating Japanese monks and people from a US religious cult. This is not going to be easy… We are […]

Repairman Jack : Bloodline

Bloodline is the eleventh book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson. After taking a break from doing fix-its, Jack takes on a simple case for Christy Pickering. She is looking for dirt on her daughter’s boyfriend, who is twice her daughters age. Not Jack’s normal work, but it sounds simple enough, until the first guy Christy […]

Free Book: Introducing Microsoft SQL Server 2012

Michael McLaughlin‘s blog has a post about a free MS SQL Server book (Introducing Microsoft SQL Server 2012) available here. If you are into MS SQL Server, you can’t get a better deal than that. Remember, you can still get hold of a free copy of Tom Kyte‘s book (Expert Oracle Database Architecture, 2nd Edition) from Red […]