SQL Developer tool giving Network Adapter error

All posts relating to Oracle database administration.

Moderator: Tim...

SQL Developer tool giving Network Adapter error

Postby shrinika » Wed May 22, 2013 7:43 pm

Hello,

I installed oracle 11.2 client on my windows 7 machine.

When i connect sql developer, i get the below error.

status : Failure - Test failed : The network Adapter could not establish the connection

I am using network Alias to select SID name.
I am able to connect the same database through sqlplus. I am able to ping the tnsname. I am able to telent the server for 1521 port.

What else could be the issue?

Any help is appreciated.
shrinika
Advisor
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: SQL Developer tool giving Network Adapter error

Postby Tim... » Thu May 23, 2013 10:01 am

Hi.

So you have...

Connection Type: TNS
Role: default
Network Alias: SID (selected from the dropdown list)

Is this correct?

Do you have any problems connecting when you use Connection Type of "Basic", putting all the details in manually?

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17933
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: SQL Developer tool giving Network Adapter error

Postby shrinika » Fri May 24, 2013 12:57 am

Tim,

Code: Select all
Connection Type: TNS
Role: default
Network Alias: SID (selected from the dropdown list)


Yes. it is correct.

I entered manually and i get the same error. It is strange. I am able connect successfully from sqlplus. Able to ping. Able to telnet with 1521 port.

Please let me know what is your thought.
shrinika
Advisor
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: SQL Developer tool giving Network Adapter error

Postby Tim... » Fri May 24, 2013 7:35 am

Hi.

You say you entered the stuff manually and it failed in the same way. That suggests you entered the wrong host:port:SID combination! The first thing you need to do is confirm this combination and get logged in using that. If this is not working, you must have made a mistake!

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17933
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK


Return to Oracle Database Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron