Data Guard Status

All posts relating to Oracle database administration.

Moderator: Tim...

Data Guard Status

Postby peterx » Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:32 am

hi Tim,

I have a production 11.2.0.3 data guard environment.

I monitoring some values for the health check.

I got one parameter, which have questions want to ask:

SWITCHOVER_STATUS
http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E18283_01/server.112/e17110/dynviews_1096.htm

1. I found that we will get false alert about the SWITCHOVER_STATUS = LOG SWITCH GAP
I am not sure this is a normal status while the primary node perform the "log switch" ?
Can i ignore this status in my health check if this is a normal operation?

2. Over 99% of my health check get
SWITCHOVER_STATUS = TO STANDBY
But, sometime it will change to "RESOLVABLE GAP".
Under what condition is RESOLVABLE GAP ?

Sometimes, i have the LOG GAP > 10, but the SWITCHOVER_STATUS still equal to "TO STANDBY".
Only a few "RESOLVABLE GAP" will be recorded.

thanks.
peterx
Senior Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:07 am

Re: Data Guard Status

Postby Tim... » Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:30 pm

Hi.

1) Yes. Looks normal.

2) I guess this is down to how regularly the check is done. The protection level will affect this I guess. Also, whether you use the broker or not, as this can do fast detection etc.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17935
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: Data Guard Status

Postby peterx » Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:51 pm

hi Tim,

very thanks for your reply!

2) I guess this is down to how regularly the check is done. The protection level will affect this I guess. Also, whether you use the broker or not, as this can do fast detection etc.

you mean if use broker, the "RESOLVABLE GAP" will be detected more fast ?

thanks.
peterx
Senior Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:07 am

Re: Data Guard Status

Postby Tim... » Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:02 pm

Hi.

Well, the detection will be quicker, but also the gap resolution will probably trigger more quickly too, so you may well not see the message so often...

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17935
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK


Return to Oracle Database Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests