This forum is currently locked. You can't register or post questions at this time. (read more)

Restore Point using flashback

All posts relating to Oracle database administration.

Moderator: Tim...

royalyogi
Senior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Restore Point using flashback

Postby royalyogi » Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:03 pm

Hi Tim,

can i get details or links for restore point for database using flashback for oracle version 11.2.0 ( for data gaurd and standalone databases). :(

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby Tim... » Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:15 pm

Hi.

See: http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/10g ... k_database

Specifically:

Code: Select all

CREATE RESTORE POINT before_changes;
.
.
.
FLASHBACK DATABASE TO RESTORE POINT before_changes;


Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

royalyogi
Senior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby royalyogi » Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:12 pm

any difference between 10g and 11g restore point since weblink is for 10g. If yes please give the link for 11g.

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby Tim... » Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:17 pm

Hi.

None that I know of. :)

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

royalyogi
Senior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby royalyogi » Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:56 am

Hi Tim,
Regarding Data Guard:

If restored point in time of primary database then standby database automatically sync with primary database?
If not then why?

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby Tim... » Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:52 pm

Hi.

No. A flashback, is just a convenient way of doing a point in time recovery. Like any recovery, it is going to pretty much break the standby, unless you can flashback the standby to the same SCN also.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

royalyogi
Senior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby royalyogi » Sun Nov 03, 2013 4:21 pm

Do we need to run same commands in standby database also? if different method please let me know

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby Tim... » Sun Nov 03, 2013 4:48 pm

Hi.

If flashback is enabled on your standby you can run the same command. If not, you will have to recreate your standby.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

royalyogi
Senior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby royalyogi » Sun Nov 03, 2013 5:09 pm

Great Tim,
three more thing. suppose we have created restore point(CREATE RESTORE POINT before_upgrade;) then upgraded the database.
1.)Now because of some reasons we want go back then restore point will work or not?

2.)Suppose we got some error while upgrading the database then shall we bring up the database in mount and can perform restore point?
3.)how can create restore point in standby database since database will be read only mode?

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby Tim... » Sun Nov 03, 2013 5:19 pm

Hi.

1) Yes. You can do a flashback to a point before the upgrade. I'm not sure if I've ever done it, so I can't point you to a doc, but I'm sure you can Google for it.

2) Like I said, not sure I've done it, so I'm not really sure of the process. I would normally restore from a backup. I'm sure you will be able to find some explanation in the manual.

3) You wouldn't. You would restore to the same SCN. You would need to restore the primary, check the SCN and restore to the SCN on the standby.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

royalyogi
Senior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby royalyogi » Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:32 am

Hi Tim,
Standby database is hanging when created restore point in standby database(after restored point created in primary Db).
Kindly help me to understand of hanging the standby database.

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby Tim... » Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:15 am

Hi.

Not sure what you mean by hanging...

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

royalyogi
Senior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby royalyogi » Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:20 am

Even though select simile select query will take more time on standby database. Didn't get any error in alert log, no lock/block/waiting sessions.

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby Tim... » Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:03 am

Hi.

What does the session say it's blocked on? Are there messages in the alert log?

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

royalyogi
Senior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: Restore Point using flashback

Postby royalyogi » Fri Dec 27, 2013 3:18 pm

as above, No blocking or locking sessions in standby database and no ORA- error also in alert log. More ever I saw database is sync status, No archive gap also between primary and secondary node. But databsae performance is slow. even select name from v$databsae will take 1-2minutes time.


Return to “Oracle Database Administration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron