This forum is currently locked. You can't register or post questions at this time. (read more)

ADF into existing FUSION FORMs

All posts relating to Oracle database administration.

Moderator: Tim...

kfoster
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:04 pm

ADF into existing FUSION FORMs

Postby kfoster » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:17 pm

We currently have Fusion Forms & Reports 11.1.2.2, Weblogic 10.3.6 on Linux. We're developing forms but are wanting to learn about ADF and play with it. Have you experienced any issues with ADF and Forms being used on the same server? Also, from what I'm reading it seems I can install JDev/ADF 12.1.2 into this 11g Froms environment. Any opinion on whether that is preferable or just use the latest 11g version of JDev/ADF (11.1.2.4). Oracle Support basically said yes (but try it in scratch environment). Really didn't feel me with confidence when they said that.

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: ADF into existing FUSION FORMs

Postby Tim... » Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:50 pm

Hi.

We currently have ADF domains and F&R services on the same server, but *only* if we are using the same version of ADFas is running with F&R services.

You can install multiple middleware homes on the same server, but I would advise against it. Put your middle tier in a virtual environment and have single installations on each virtual server.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

kfoster
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:04 pm

Re: ADF into existing FUSION FORMs

Postby kfoster » Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:11 pm

By same version are we talking exactly the same (F&R 11.1.2.1 not okay with ADF 11.1.2.4) or as long as it is 11.1.2.* on both sides? Getting ready to check the patch levels for both now but thought I'd ask.

I was really hesitant when Oracle told me to give ADF 12 a try in my current 11 set-up so your advice really helps. Appreciate it Tim!

Kelly

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: ADF into existing FUSION FORMs

Postby Tim... » Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:10 am

Hi.

I seriously mean, install F&R and don't touch it. No upgrades to ADF. Maybe CPUs to WebLogic, as that won't kill F&R.

If you want to run a separate ADF version, I would install it in a different middleware home. It actually should be OK in the same middleware home as forms, because it is installed in a different place, but why risk it?

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

kfoster
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:04 pm

Re: ADF into existing FUSION FORMs

Postby kfoster » Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:26 pm

Sorry, must understanding was a little off. Clearly understood now. Thanks Tim.

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: ADF into existing FUSION FORMs

Postby Tim... » Wed Apr 02, 2014 7:24 pm

:)
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog


Return to “Oracle Database Administration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron