This forum is currently locked. You can't register or post questions at this time. (read more)

RAC Cluster on VM

Questions relating to Oracle Real Application Clusters (RAC) and Clusterware.

Moderator: Tim...

parkerjohn03
Senior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 3:05 am

RAC Cluster on VM

Postby parkerjohn03 » Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:56 pm

Hi,

I have two node RAC cluster on VMWare setup. My physical machine (laptop) has 8GB RAM and 4 CPU.

I have allocated 2 CPU and 2 GB RAM for each RAC node . When I start up both node, ASM instance is taking very long time to bring up as well as cluster resources are taking much time. When i installed RAC few months a ago, It was working fine and speed was also good.

Is there anyway we can configure VM to speed up this RAC setup or I need to delete everything and recreate this setup ?

Thanks in advance.

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: RAC Cluster on VM

Postby Tim... » Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:37 am

Hi.

The speed is almost entirely down to the lack of memory in the RAC nodes. The minimum requirement for the setup you have is 4G RAM per node. You have half that, so your VMs are swapping like crazy during startup. Having two RAC nodes swapping is causing your virtual disks on each node to grind. I suggest:

- If you make them 2.5-3G RAM each it will be better.
- Make the SGA and PGA as small as you can, to free up memory.
- Turn off the db console, if this is a 10g or 11g installation. It's wasting more memory.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog


Return to “Oracle RAC and Clusterware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron