This forum is currently locked. You can't register or post questions at this time. (read more)

Error when tried to start managed server

Questions relating to Oracle Real Application Clusters (RAC) and Clusterware.

Moderator: Tim...

ponic
Senior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:18 am

Error when tried to start managed server

Postby ponic » Wed May 08, 2013 3:27 pm

Hi

I have weblogic 10.3.6 as stand alone. I have created a Managed Server with port 7005.

When I tried to start managed server I am getting the following errors

Code: Select all

The server demo does not have a machine associated with it.

All of the servers selected are currently in a state which is incompatible with
this operation or are not associated with a running Node Manager or you are not
authorized to perform the action requested. No action will be performed.
What could be the reason for this? Do I need to create a machine even if I am running as standalone server?

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Error when tried to start managed server

Postby Tim... » Wed May 08, 2013 4:20 pm

Hi.

I don't tend to work with the standalone servers, but I guess the rules are pretty similar. For many operations, the AdminServer will request the node manager to perform the service. If the node manager is not started, or the managed servers are not linked to the node manager, then the operations will fail, as you have seen here.

What you need to do is:

- Start the node manager.
- In the WebLogic Service Administration Console, under "Environment > Machines", add a new machine, matching the current server/PC name.
- In the Machine definition, link it to the AdminServer (DefaultServer) and the managed server.

Once this is done, your operation should work normally.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

ponic
Senior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:18 am

Re: Error when tried to start managed server

Postby ponic » Wed May 08, 2013 5:57 pm

Thanks.

One question, nodemanager can only be started from command line? Not from Admn console?

Regards

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Error when tried to start managed server

Postby Tim... » Wed May 08, 2013 6:04 pm

Hi.

On the server it is a command line thing. Can't say I've looked at the standalone stuff much. :)

On the server I typically start it like this:

Code: Select all

$ nohup $WLS_HOME/server/bin/startNodeManager.sh > /dev/null 2>&1 &


Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog


Return to “Oracle RAC and Clusterware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron