This forum is currently locked. You can't register or post questions at this time. (read more)

standby database in SE oracle

All posts relating to Oracle database administration.

Moderator: Tim...

alanm
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Shropshire
Contact:

standby database in SE oracle

Postby alanm » Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:49 pm

hi Tim,
I assume it is possible to create a standby database of sort using Standard Edition Oracle 11gr2. Do you have any articles on how the process would work and be developed?

regards

Alan

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: standby database in SE oracle

Postby Tim... » Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:06 pm

Hi.

You can't use Data Guard, but you can do a manual approach if you like. You manually move across the archived redo logs and keep recovering, without opening...

You can also buy 3rd part products to do it with standard edition. DBVisit have a nice product for this...

http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/mis ... tandby.php

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

alanm
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Shropshire
Contact:

Re: standby database in SE oracle

Postby alanm » Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:23 pm

Hi Tim,
How mush does dbvisit cost? Ok just seen the price and it will be out of range.
The reason SE was chosen was due to costs for EE being excessive so any extra cost for a 3rd party tool would not be welcomed too much.

Do you have any articles on the creation and management of a sudo standby database using SE oracle?

regards

Alan

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: standby database in SE oracle

Postby Tim... » Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:31 pm

Hi.

I don't have any articles. Do a database duplication, but don't open the database. Just keep moving the archived redo logs across to the "standby". You can intermittently recovery using them. If you need to use it, you complete the recovery and open it.

If something is important enough to need a standby, then price should not be a limiting factor. :)

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog

alanm
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Shropshire
Contact:

Re: standby database in SE oracle

Postby alanm » Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:40 pm

Hi Tim,
Trouble is that cost factors come in to so many things today. Money is not as freely available for clients to spend as it was a few years ago.

Thanks for the information anyway.

regards

Alan

Tim...
Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: standby database in SE oracle

Postby Tim... » Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:42 pm

Hi.

The more availability you need, the greater the cost. If users are happy to have lower availability, then things are cheap. If they want amazing availablity, then they have to pay. It's that simple.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog


Return to “Oracle Database Administration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron