Problem setting up dbconrtol on NODE2

Questions relating to Oracle Real Application Clusters (RAC) and Clusterware.

Moderator: Tim...

Problem setting up dbconrtol on NODE2

Postby gkotla » Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:42 pm

Hi Tim,

We are RAC setup with two nodes (oracle 11.3.0.2). I have created a database (in silent install mode) with the option of dbcontrol (with the following command)

------------------------
dbca -silent -createDatabase -templateName New_Database.dbt -gdbName AIRDEV02 -sid AIRDEV02 -SysPassword welcome1 -SystemPassword welcome1 -sysmanPassword welcome1 -dbsnmpPassword welcome1 -emConfiguration LOCAL -storageType ASM -diskGroupName DATA -asmSysPassword welcome1 -characterSet WE8ISO8859P15 -memoryPercentage 10 -nodelist oda-lex-n0 -initParams "compatible=11.2.0.2.0"
------------------------

I have configured the dbcontrol using

emca -config dbcontrol db -cluster

I can see the dbconsole with URL pointing to the NODE 1 as follows:
Code: Select all
https://oda-lex-n0.eas.local:5500/em/console/logon/logon

but when I tried to check the dbconsole from the second node as shown below, I get the error page can't be displayed.
Code: Select all
 https://oda-lex-n1.eas.local:5500/em/console/logon/logon


When I run emca -displayConfig dbcontrol -cluster I get the following output, that clearly shows that DBCONTROL_UPLOAD_HOST for node 2 (oda-lex-n1) is pointing to oda-lex-n0.eas.local. I think this is the problem. Can you please help me in fixing this issue.

------------
[oracle@oda-lex-n0 ~]$ emca -displayConfig dbcontrol -cluster

STARTED EMCA at Jun 24, 2013 10:44:37 AM
EM Configuration Assistant, Version 11.2.0.3.0 Production
Copyright (c) 2003, 2011, Oracle. All rights reserved.

Enter the following information:
Database unique name: AIRDEV02
Service name: AIRDEV02
Do you wish to continue? [yes(Y)/no(N)]: Y
Jun 24, 2013 10:45:39 AM oracle.sysman.emcp.EMConfig perform
INFO: This operation is being logged at /u01/app/oracle/cfgtoollogs/emca/AIRDEV02/emca_2013_06_24_10_44_37.log.
Jun 24, 2013 10:45:41 AM oracle.sysman.emcp.EMDBPostConfig showClusterDBCAgentMessage
INFO:
**************** Current Configuration ****************
INSTANCE NODE DBCONTROL_UPLOAD_HOST
---------- ---------- ---------------------

AIRDEV02 oda-lex-n0 oda-lex-n0.eas.local
AIRDEV02 oda-lex-n1 oda-lex-n0.eas.local


Enterprise Manager configuration completed successfully
FINISHED EMCA at Jun 24, 2013 10:45:41 AM
----------
gkotla
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:25 pm

Re: Problem setting up dbconrtol on NODE2

Postby Tim... » Mon Jun 24, 2013 4:01 pm

Hi.

This is normal. The DBConsole doesn't function properly on all nodes. You access it from one node and check the other via that node.

Oracle recommend you do not use the DBConsole in RAC or Data Guard environments. In those they recommend the use of Grid Control, or now Cloud Control.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17932
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: Problem setting up dbconrtol on NODE2

Postby gkotla » Mon Jun 24, 2013 4:13 pm

Hi Tim,

Thanks for you reply.
But want happens when NODE 1 (oda-lex-n0) is down. I will not be able access dbconsole at all (as dbconsole is working not from NODE 2).

Please advice.

Thanks.
gkotla
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:25 pm

Re: Problem setting up dbconrtol on NODE2

Postby Tim... » Mon Jun 24, 2013 6:50 pm

Hi.

You always have the option of reconfiguring the DBConsole to run on the second node.

You have to remember that this tool was never designed to be used in a serious environment, hence the lack of support for RAC and Data Guard. In 12c the DB Console has been removed and replaced by a Mickey Mouse tool with the database, but Oracle have essentially done what they always said they would and forced you on to Cloud Control.

If you switch to Cloud Control you will never want to go back. It's a much better tool and wastes a lot less of your server memory than DBConsole does.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17932
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK


Return to Oracle RAC and Clusterware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest