how to setup Dataguard for RAC

Questions relating to Oracle Real Application Clusters (RAC) and Clusterware.

Moderator: Tim...

Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:53 am
Location: India

how to setup Dataguard for RAC

Postby sivakumarocp » Mon May 13, 2013 7:55 am

Hi Tim,

I would like to know how to setup Physical standby for RAC (in 11gr2).

I have an idea about how to setup physical standby for stand alone database. I used this link ( ... -11gr2.php)

But not sure about for RAC, could you please share any link/document

also would like to know is it mandatory to have SCAN IP on my physical standby database?

Site Admin
Posts: 18437
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: how to setup Dataguard for RAC

Postby Tim... » Mon May 13, 2013 8:36 am


The process is pretty similar. You can read about it here: ... upport.htm

The main difference is you have to remember to define multiple redo threads...

I don't have an article on this. If you Google it I'm sure you will find lots of examples by people.


Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website:
My blog:

Return to “Oracle RAC and Clusterware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests